LBF staff will return to the office on May 18 but the office will remain closed to the public through August 31, 2020

Barnett to Lead LBF's 2019-20 Board


Amanda W. Barnett of Alexandria, was installed as the 2019-20 president of the Louisiana Bar Foundation (LBF) at the 33rd Annual Gala. Other officers are Vice President Christopher K. Ralston of New Orleans; Treasurer Harry J. “Skip” Philips of Baton Rouge; and Secretary Alan G. Brackett of New Orleans.


President Amanda W. Barnett

Barnett is General Counsel and Corporate Secretary for Red River Bank and Red River Bancshares, Inc., with corporate offices in Alexandria. Prior to joining the bank, Ms. Barnett was with Gold, Weems, Sues, Bruser & Rundell where her practice focused on general corporate law and commercial litigation. She has a B.A. in English Literature from Newcomb College of Tulane University, and a J.D. from Louisiana State University.


Vice President Christopher K. Ralston

Ralston is a litigation partner and litigation group coordinator at Phelps Dunbar LLP.  His practice is focused on business disputes, including litigation of real estate, intellectual property, tax and licensing disputes.  He received his undergraduate degree from the College of William and Mary and his law degree from Tulane University Law School.


Treasurer Harry J. “Skip” Philips

Philips is the Managing Partner of Taylor, Porter, Brooks & Phillips, L.L.P. in Baton Rouge. He practices primarily in the areas of commercial and personal injury litigation and insurance law. He received his BS and JD degrees from Louisiana State University.


Secretary Alan G. Brackett

Brackett is a member of Mouledoux, Bland, Legrand & Brackett in New Orleans, where his practice is focused on representing maritime clients in transactions and defense of personal injury claims. He also manages the firm’s workers’ compensation defense group, which includes federal longshore and Defense Base Act claims as well as claims under the War Hazards Compensation Act. He obtained both his B.A. and J.D. from Tulane University.


New board members are Paula Adams Ates, St. Rose; Patricia R. Bonneau, Mandeville; Charles “Chuck” Bourque, Jr., Houma; Hon. Guy E. Bradberry, Lake Charles; Edmund J. Giering IV, Baton Rouge; Julie M. Lafargue, New Orleans; Alaina R. Mire, Alexandria, and John C. Nickelson, Shreveport.

Other members of the 2019-20 board of directors include:

Hon. John C. Davidson, Alexandria; George D. “Dave” Ernest III, Lafayette; H. Dunbar Healy, Covington; Eugene G. “Bubba” Gouaux, Jr., Lockport; Karleen J. Green, Baton Rouge; Camille Jackson, Alexandria; Robert A. Kutcher, Metairie; Kerry A. Murphy, New Orleans; W. Michael Street, Monroe; David E. Verlander III, Monroe; Sharonda R. Williams, New Orleans; and Zebulon M. Winstead, Alexandria.  

The Louisiana Bar Foundation is a non-profit 501(c)(3) entity organized under the state of Louisiana.