The LBF office is currently closed to the public.

LBF Seeking Nominations for 2020 Boisfontaine Award

The Louisiana Bar Foundation (LBF) is seeking nominations for the 2020 Curtis R. Boisfontaine Trial Advocacy Award.  Nominations must be received in the LBF office by Monday, February 10, 2020.  The award will be presented at the Louisiana State Bar Association’s Annual Meeting in Destin, Florida in June.  The recipient will receive a plaque and $1,000 will be donated in their name to a non-profit, law-related program or association of their choice who provides services in Louisiana.

This trial advocacy award was established through an endowment to the Louisiana Bar Foundation in memory of Curtis R. Boisfontaine, who served as President of the Louisiana State Bar Association and the Louisiana Association of Defense Counsel. Generous donations from Sessions, Fishman, Nathan & Israel, LLP, the Boisfontaine Family and friends established the fund.

A consummate trial lawyer throughout his career, Boisfontaine adhered at all times to the highest standards of the profession not only in the way he demonstrated his extraordinary ability to prepare and try cases of all kinds, but in the exemplary way that he did so, consistent with the highest ideals of ethical and moral conduct. He was president of the Louisiana State Bar Association and the Louisiana Association of Defense Counsel.  He served on the New Orleans Bar Association Executive Committee and American Bar Association House of Delegates. A charter member of the Louisiana Bar Foundation, Boisfontaine served as state chair of the Fellows of the American Bar Foundation. He was a member of the American College of Trial Lawyers.

The award is given to a Louisiana attorney who exhibits long standing devotion to and excellence in trial practice and upholds the standards of ethics and consideration for the court, litigants and all counsel.  Previous recipients are Kim M. Boyle, Patrick S. Ottinger, Emmett C. Sole, Christine Lipsey, Eugene J. Sues, Wood Brown III, William K. Christovich, Patrick A. Juneau, John B. Scofield, Gene W. Lafitte, Charles S. Weems III, Herschel E. Richard, Jr., Jack C. Benjamin, Sr., Robert B. Acomb, Jr., John J. Weigel, Allen Lewis Smith, Jr., H. Alston Johnson III, John R. Martzell, George A. Frilot III, Phillip A. Wittmann, J. Michael Small, John M. McCollam, William R. Forrester, Jr., Daniel Lund, Mary Olive Pierson, and Charles F. Gay, Jr.

Nominations should include nominee’s name, contact information, a brief written statement on the background of the nominee, as well as reasons why the nominee is proposed as the award recipient.  Nominations should be forwarded to Dennette Young, Communications Director at the Louisiana Bar Foundation, 1615 Poydras Street, Suite 1000, New Orleans, LA 70112 or to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. by Monday, February 10, 2020.

The Louisiana Bar Foundation is a non-profit 501(c)(3) entity organized under the state of Louisiana.