“Sometimes legal aid is the only thing standing between a family’s ability to be self-sufficient and poverty. For many Louisiana citizens facing crisis, an effective and powerful response must include civil legal aid.”
Hon. Wendell Manning
2014-15 LBF President
“As lawyers, we swore an oath to never reject, from any consideration personal to ourselves, the cause of the defenseless or oppressed or delay any person’s cause for monetary gain or malice. I believe that oath places upon all lawyers, as a profession, the obligation to not only care about civil legal aid, but to actively do something about it.”
Leo C. Hamilton
2013-14 LBF President
“Civil legal aid is an absolutely essential element of fulfilling what we say when we recite the Pledge of Allegiance and confirm our dedication to liberty and justice for all. If we fail to assure access to justice for all, we have failed in the American dream. Let’s work together to assure that dream is not lost.”
Richard K. Leefe
2013-14 LSBA President
“No community thrives when people are homeless, children are out of school or families experience violence. The help legal aid programs provide keeps faith with one of America’s core values – equal access to justice – and changes the lives of low-income people every day.”
Chief Justice Bernette J. Johnson

Our Partners

Thank you to Chief Justice Bernette Johnson, the Louisiana State Bar Association and the Board of Directors of the bar associations, Inns of Court and organizations listed below for passing resolutions in support of the Louisiana Campaign to Preserve Civil Legal Aid. The support of these organizations and their attorney members is critical to maintaining and developing resources that will provide low-income Louisiana citizens with meaningful access to the justice system.

To present a resolution to your bar association's Board of Directors, download our
sample resolution.

The following organizations passed a resolution or letter of support declaring their support for the Louisiana Campaign to Preserve Civil Legal Aid:


Harry V. Booth Judge Henry A. Politz Inn of Court
Resolution adopted June 2015

John M. Duhe, Jr. American Inn of Court
Resolution adopted February 26, 2015

Southwest Louisiana Bar Association
Resolution adopted February 2, 2015

4th Judicial District Bar Association
Resolution adopted January 26, 2015

Louisiana Appleseed
Resolution adopted October 14, 2014

Louisiana District Judges Association
Resolution adopted October 6, 2014

Louisiana Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges
Resolution adopted October 6, 2014

Inn on the Teche
Resolution adopted October 2, 2014

Southwest Louisiana Bar Foundation
Resolution adopted September 17, 2014

New Orleans Bar Association
Resolution adopted September 16, 2014

Lincoln Parish Bar Association
Resolution adopted September 8, 2014

Baton Rouge Bar Association
Resolution adopted July 24, 2014

Lafayette Bar Association
Resolution adopted July 15, 2014

Association for Women Attorneys - New Orleans
Resolution adopted June 19, 2014

Alexandria Bar Association
Resolution adopted June 4, 2014

Lafayette Parish Bar Foundation
Resolution adopted June 5, 2014

American Inn of Court of Acadiana
Resolution adopted May 12, 2014

Federal Bar Association, New Orleans Chapter
Resolution adopted May 2014

Shreveport Bar Foundation
Resolution adopted April 17, 2014

Shreveport Bar Association
Resolution adopted April 16, 2014

Louisiana State Bar Association House of Delegates
Resolution adopted January 25, 2014

Letters of Support:

Chief Justice Johnson
Letter of Support, January 10, 2014

LSBA Young Lawyers Division Council
Letter of Support, September 2, 2014

Development/Campaign Committee:

E. Jane Sherman, Campaign Co-Chair
Bennett L. Politz, Campaign Co-Chair
Donald R. Abaunza
Raymond G. Areaux
Valerie Briggs Bargas
Amanda Barnett
Laura Mauffray Borchert
Alan G. Brackett
Lawrence J. "Larry" Centola III
Lana Crump
Mark A. Cunningham
Shannon Dartez
Hon. Bernadette G. D'Souza
Jerry Edwards
Linda Ewbank
Gene Gouaux, Jr.
Leo C. Hamilton
Dunbar Healy
Rebekah Huggins
Christy Fast Kane
Byron R. Kantrow, Jr.
Leonard K. Knapp, Jr.
Julie M. Lafargue
Monique M. Lafontaine
Hon. C. Wendell Manning
Rob McCorquodale
Jackie M. McCreary
A. Carter Mills IV
Sheri Morris
Kerry A. Murphy
James R. Nieset
Joesph R. Oelkers III
Darrel J. Papillion
Hon. Roy S. Payne
Harry J. "Skip" Phillips
H. Minor Pipes III
Christopher K. Ralston
Hon. Harry Randow
Dona Kay Renegar
Marta-Ann Schnabel
Joseph L. "Larry" Shea, Jr.
W. Michael Street
James Willeford
Zebulon M. Winstead